NCERT Solutions for Class 11 maths Chapter 11 Conic Sections

Studying the “Conic Sections” of Class 11 enables the students to get a strong knowledge of the concepts of Sections of a cone. The conic sections are formed from the intersection of the surface of a double right-circular cone and a plane. There are four conic sections—parabola, circle, ellipse, and hyperbola—and three degenerate forms—point, line, and two intersecting lines. In Maths, a conic section is a curve obtained as the intersection of the surface of a cone with a plane. The topics covered include the sections of a cone, namely, circle, ellipse, parabola, hyperbola, a point, a straight line and a pair of intersecting lines as a degenerate case of a conic section. Standard equations and simple properties of circle, parabola, ellipse and hyperbola are also present in the chapter.