NCERT Solutions for Class 6 Geography Chapter 5 Major Domains of the Earth

Major domains of the Earth is a fundamental concept in Geography. Solid (Lithosphere), gaseous (Atmosphere), liquid (Hydrosphere) and biosphere parts of the Earth are not isolated, but they overlap with each other. The surface of the Earth is a complex zone where the three main components of the environment meet, overlap and interact. There are four major domains of the Earth – lithosphere, atmosphere, hydrosphere and biosphere. The atmosphere is divided into four layers based on composition, temperature and other properties. The different layers of the atmosphere are troposphere, stratosphere, mesosphere, thermosphere and exosphere.