NCERT Solutions for Class 6 Geography Chapter 6 Major Landforms of the Earth

A landform is a natural feature of the solid surface of the Earth. Mountains, hills, plateaus and plains are the four major types of land-forms. A mountain is a natural elevation of the earth surface. There are three types of mountains—Fold mountains, Block mountains and Volcanic mountains. A plateau is an elevated flat land. It is a flat-topped table land standing above the surrounding area. Plains are large stretches of flat land. Minor landforms include buttes, canyons, valleys, and basins.