NCERT Solutions for Class 7 Civics Chapter 3 How the state Government Works

State governments in India are the governments ruling over 28 states, and two union territories of India and the head of the Council of Ministers in a state is the Chief Minister. Power is divided between the Union government and state governments. Each state has a legislative assembly. It is imperative to know about the MLAs. People vote to elect an MLA (Member of Legislative Assembly). The MLAs all together form the government. MLAs are representatives of the people. People vote for their representative, and the MLA with highest votes represents the whole constituency.